RSS Feed

Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend | Review

Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend by Katie Finn

UnknownPublished May 13th 2014 by Feiwel & Friends

Pages: 339 pages

Format: Hardcover

Source: Purchased

Buy it here: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and your local independent bookstore.

The Goodreads summary:


Summer, boys, and friendships gone sour. This new series has everything that perfect beach reads are made of!

Gemma just got dumped and is devastated. She finds herself back in the Hamptons for the summer—which puts her at risk of bumping into Hallie, her former best friend that she wronged five years earlier. Do people hold grudges that long?

When a small case of mistaken identity causes everyone, including Hallie and her dreamy brother Josh, to think she’s someone else, Gemma decides to go along with it.

Gemma’s plan is working (she’s finding it hard to resist Josh), but she’s finding herself in embarrassing situations (how could a bathing suit fall apart like that!?). Is it coincidence or is someone trying to expose her true identity? And how will Josh react if he finds out who she is?

Katie Finn hits all the right notes in this perfect beginning to a new summer series: A Broken Hearts & Revenge novel.


My Review!

Okay, first off, I LOVE THIS COVER! I mean, even if this was an awful book (which it isn’t) I would probably still recommend it because of the cover.

Something you need to know is that Katie Finn is a pseudonym for Morgan Matson. I started to read this book before I knew that and after I figured that out I got really excited because I love Morgan Matson’s books with a passion.

This book is basically the young adult version of Revenge on ABC. They are both in the Hamptons, have false identities, and have a lot of revenge. Considering I watched Revenge for a while, it is pretty much expected that I would enjoy this book.

One of the first things I thought when I was reading this book was that it was like Second Chance Summer, an amazing book by Morgan Matson. It was similar in a generalized way, but after the book got going I could tell it was completely different.

Gemma was an interesting character. She seemed to be a good person trying to make amends but she didn’t really take responsibility for what she had done in the past. Unlike the ‘secret’ in Second Chance Summer, what Gemma did was actually really horrible. At least this time we don’t have to wait forever until the ‘secret’ is revealed.

I predicted the entirety of this book. At the end when I was correct I was pretty much like

When I was right about everything this was me.

Sometimes I wanted to slap Gemma in the face because she didn’t realize what was happening right in front of her face. I think Gemma wanted to be Hallie’s friend so badly she didn’t focus on anything except mending her friendship.

Okay: JOSH! I love Josh. He was so cute and sweet. Their relationship was cute and sweet. This book was also completely clean from what I remember. YAY!

At the end of the book I was so upset. I wasn’t shocked because I saw it coming, but after I closed the book I was just mad/sad.

Normally I hate predictable books, but I was okay with this one. I would’ve like a little more surprise but it was okay because I like other aspects of the book.

I really, really, really need the next book. Like, right now.

I NEED to know what happens with Josh and Gemma and Hallie and Sophie and everyone!

I would recommend this to anyone who likes books about the Hamptons, summer, secrets, and revenge. If you watch Revenge on ABC I don’t know why you haven’t bought it already. I would say ages thirteen and up for this book.

I give Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend 4/5 stars. I read this book in one sitting. One sitting. It is a very fast and addicting read!

Read this book if you want a fast-paced book about secrets and revenge in the Hamptons!

Your favorite fangirl,

Sarah!

About Sarah Stevens

I am a teenage girl that reads lots of young adult books. I also watch Doctor Who, Sherlock, and Downton Abbey. I love YA realistic fiction and dystopian books.

2 responses »

  1. I’ve never heard of this book, but it sounds like something I would really enjoy! I just recently learned that Katie Finn is actually Morgan Matson- I think that’s so cool! Anyways, great review! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

