RSS Feed

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer | Review

This is in my all time top five books!

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

13547135Published by Simon & Schuster on September 27th, 2011

Pages: 452

Format: Paperback

Source: Purchased

Buy the ebook on Amazon here for only $1.99 for a short time! Super cheap! Do it!


 

Summary from Goodreads:

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.


My review!

I love the Mara Dyer series with a passion. I read the books last year but they were so good that I feel the need to recommend them to every reader I encounter.

Mara Dyer doesn’t really fit in one genre. The main genre is paranormal fantasy, but it also has romance and slight horror elements.

The story begins with Mara as she has just moved to her new school in Miami, Florida. Her new school is a very expensive private school that has the stereotypical students along with it.

Mara has PTSD from an incident in her old town that killed her best friend, her boyfriend, and his sister. We later learn that her old boyfriend, Jude, is a complete and total JERK. There is only one small issue: she doesn’t remember it. All she knows is from what people have told her: that the group went to spend the night in the ‘haunted’ asylum and the building collapsed.

Mara keeps having strange experiences. She has nightmares and hallucinations. In one instance, she sees a man that is abusing his dog. Mara wishes this man to be dead. Later, the man is found dead under mysterious circumstances.

First off, I have never read a book similar to this. I actually got kind of freaked out at parts (especially in the second book), but in a good way. I think memory loss books are very interesting because the protagonist is just as confused as you are.

Mara is an interesting character. Throughout the book, you are left to decide for yourself if she is sane or not. Mara is a very nervous person and she does not open up to many people. She has character development in that aspect, because she finally trusts a few friends by the end of the book.

Mara’s new best friend is Jamie. He is sarcastic and loyal to Mara. He defends Mara when the school bully, Anna, picks on Mara.

Mara has two brothers. Daniel is the eldest and he is very smart and protective of Mara. She also has a younger brother, Joseph. She loves both of her brothers very much.

Okay time to go over one of the best parts of this book, THE ROMANCE. NOAH ELLIOT SIMON SHAW.
*swoon*

Noah is probably my favorite book boy of all time. He is funny, cute, and protective. He is also a very, very complex character. I still don’t understand every aspect of him. He is first shown to be the rude and overconfident jerk, but it is soon shown that he is truly a caring person that will do anything and everything for those he loves. So, to be clear, I LOVE NOAH AND HE IS MINE.

This book is so great and I cannot believe that this is Michelle’s first novel. You deserve a cat high five, Michelle.

I ALMOST met Michelle at YALLFest (A young adult book festival in Charleston, South Carolina with all of the authors. Basically the stuff of dreams.) but her flight was delayed. She will be going to YALLFest this November so come if you can! I know I’ll be there!

So you need to read The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer because it is unique, hilarious, terrifying, and swoon worthy. All of the things. ANNNDDDD it is only $1.99 on Amazon, so you have no excuse not to read it!

Oh, by the way, The Evolution of Mara Dyer is the ultimate cliffhanger and the last book, The Retribution of Mara Dyer, does not come out until November fourth.

STORY TIME: The first release date of Retribution was October 22nd, 2013. That was the same day that Allegiant was released. I was prepared to read Retribution first, but the night before I checked Twitter and I saw that date had been pushed back to June *infinite tears*. So, I accepted it. THEN the date was pushed back again to this November *sigh*. Michelle probably gets hate for this, but I would rather have to wait for an awesome and perfect finale than get an okay ending earlier. LOVE YOU MICHELLE!

So, again, read it. I am going to reread the books soon. They also have beautiful cover so what’s not to love?! After you’re done we can cry together!

Your favorite fangirl

Sarah!

About Sarah Stevens

I am a teenage girl that reads lots of young adult books. I also watch Doctor Who, Sherlock, and Downton Abbey. I love YA realistic fiction and dystopian books.

One response »

  1. Thanks for this post! I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while. I just bought it for my Kindle! Thanks!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

