RSS Feed

The Rules for Disappearing | Review

Quick and mysterious read.

The Rules for Disappearing by Ashley Elston

13018503-1

Published May 14th 2013 by Disney-Hyperion

Pages: 320

Source: Purchased

Format: Paperback

Buy it at Amazon or Barnes and Noble.


Summary from Goodreads:

She’s been six different people in six different places: Madeline in Ohio, Isabelle in Missouri, Olivia in Kentucky . . . But now that she’s been transplanted to rural Louisiana, she has decided that this fake identity will be her last.

Witness Protection has taken nearly everything from her. But for now, they’ve given her a new name, Megan Rose Jones, and a horrible hair color. For the past eight months, Meg has begged her father to answer one question: What on earth did he do – or see – that landed them in this god-awful mess? Meg has just about had it with all the Suits’ rules — and her dad’s silence. If he won’t help, it’s time she got some answers for herself.

But Meg isn’t counting on Ethan Landry, an adorable Louisiana farm boy who’s too smart for his own good. He knows Meg is hiding something big. And it just might get both of them killed. As they embark on a perilous journey to free her family once and for all, Meg discovers that there’s only one rule that really matters — survival.


First off, sorry for the quick hiatus! I was at Camp Cedar Cliff (which is an amazingly awesome camp) and I couldn’t have any electronics! Gasp!

Anyway, I read The Rules for Disappearing during my free time at camp and it was definitely a page turner. It was also IN THE SOUTH! Hooray!

The book follows Meg as she and her family are thrust into the witness protection program. Meg is at her sixth placement in rural Louisiana and she has firmly decided that she will not associate with anyone or make any friends because it is too hard to leave them behind.

This slowly changes as she gets to know Ethan. The romance is not the main point of this book. It is a biggish part of the storyline but it is not the main plot.

The rest of the story follows Meg as she tries to discover what happened to get her family into this mess and what she can do to get out of it.

Meg was a pretty realistic and strong main character. She reacted to her situation how anyone would. Though she frustrated me at points, I understood why she did the things she did. She was very strong willed and self sufficient.

Ethan was an amazing character. He was southern (as I am) and very clever, which is a rare combination. I loved how the author did not fall prey to the classic southern hick stereotype. Ethan was supportive of Meg but he didn’t bend over backwards to please her, which I appreciated. I loved their romance because it was frustratingly real.

A downside to this book was that it was fairly predictable. I predicted the general idea of why Meg’s family was in the witness protection program and I think it was fairly obvious. There was one twist at the very end of the story that I did not see at all so that may have evened it out.

Another think that bothered me was that the writing was very much in Meg’s head, a little too much for my taste. There would be words like “AAARRRGGG” which I type when I’m fangirling but I do not appreciate in an official novel. I noticed the informal writing more than a few times but it isn’t too big of a deal.

A book has to be very good for me to focus on at camp and this one took home the prize. I wanted to know what would happen to Meg and it flowed very well. It was an easy and interesting read.

I would recommend this to any fan of mystery or realistic fiction ages 13 and up. There were some descriptions of Meg and Ethan making out but nothing got heavy.

3.5/5 stars. The rating is lower because it is a fairly forgettable book. There is a second book which I will read when I find time. It is still a unique read and I would recommend it if you are in a reading slump and need a quick boost.

Your favorite fangirl,

Sarah!

P.S. Sorry for not having gifs! I’m lazy! Next time, I promise.

Romans 5:8 “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

 

About Sarah Stevens

I am a teenage girl that reads lots of young adult books. I also watch Doctor Who, Sherlock, and Downton Abbey. I love YA realistic fiction and dystopian books.

Leave a Reply

