RSS Feed

August 2014 in YA

What’s happening this month in YA?

Books

Click the book title for a link to the book’s Goodreads page.

August 5th


13644055

Opposition by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Yes, yes, yes, yes! I sped through the Lux series like a cup of water after a cross country race. That cliffhanger left me begging for more and I am SO ABSOLUTELY TOTALLY READING THIS BOOK! YES!

 

18811324

 The Islands at the End of the World by Austin  Aslan

This book sounds really mysterious and really good. Electronics have failed? Is this like NBC’s Revolution? I watched that show and kind of liked it but I would read this one if I needed a book. Also, the author’s last name is Aslan. Win.

 

17303139

Of Metal and Wishes by Sarah Fine

I think this book sounds quite interesting. I’ve never read a book about ghosts before, but I may as well start now! I will probably be reading this book.

 

16059149

Magnolia by Kristi Cook

This book sounds kind of interesting but I don’t know if I would like it. But, it is IN THE SOUTH, HOORAY! It has good reviews so I’ll probably try to read it.

 

13508415

Mortal Danger by Ann Aguirre

I don’t know about this one. It seems to be highly anticipated, but it’s about revenge. Revenge is never the answer. I feel like this book would frustrate me. It also seems interesting, though.

 

 

August 12th*

NONE

August 14th

9627755Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

YESYESYESYESYESYESYES PLEASE! I love Stephanie Perkins SO MUCH that I would read her grocery lists (heh, TFiOS reference). SO EXITED FOR THIS, YES, JUST YES!

Read the first FIFTY PAGES here!

Sister’s Fate by Jessica Spotswood 17620113

This is the third book in a series about witches. I’m not a fan of witch books so I probably won’t read this.

 

 

18667954Between the Spark and the Burn by April Genevieve Tuckolke

This is the sequel to Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea. I’ve looked into reading it but I’ve never gotten around to it. The books seem mysterious and interesting and I may read them.

 

18366963

Fiendish by Brenna Yovanoff

This sounds really mysterious, interesting, and slightly creepy. I want to read it. Hopefully I will get around to it soon.

 

 

August 19th

NONE

August 26th

17700320

The Rule of Thoughts by James Dashner

I read the first book in this series, The Eye of Minds, and it was okay. It had no depth. I LOVE THE MAZE RUNNER but James Dashner disappointed me. I’ll read this, but I have little anticipation.

 

19486754

Ghost House by Alexandra Adornetto

Meh. More ghosts. Does she really have a relationship with a 150 year old ghost? Um, TWILIGHT! I won’t read this.

 

 

20801166

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

I LOVE THIS COVER WITH ALL MY HEART so I will probably get this just to look at. Also, it sounds really cute. I want to read this.

 

 

9780062117236

Deliverance by C.J. Redwine

This book has good ratings but it sounds like a little bit much. It is the third in a series. I may read it if I have time.

 

 

9780062194725

The Revenge of Seven by Pittacus Lore

I read the first three books in the I Am Number Four series and I’m not a big fan. I probably won’t read this. By the way, the summary on Goodreads has MAJOR SPOILERS!

 

 

9780062220202

Feral by Holly Schindler

This sounds really interesting. Murder mysteries are always really intriguing. I want to read this one!

 

 

Info collected from Epic Reads.

movies

August 15th: THE GIVER IS FINALLY HERE! HOOOOOORRRAAAYYYY! The amazing book is finally being made into a movie after twenty-one years. SO very much seeing this!

August 22nd: If I Stay! I loveloveloved this book. The movie will he heartbreaking but it looks perfect! I am so excited! Bring tissues!

 

What a busy month! So excited for all of these books and movies!

*Can someone please educate me on why there are no books coming out on the twelfth but many on the fourteenth? Book release day is Tuesday, not Thursday!

Your favorite fangirl,

Sarah!

P.S. Comment what you’re most anticipating! Also, share and like this post if you found it informative!

Romans 5:8 “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

About Sarah Stevens

I am a teenage girl that reads lots of young adult books. I also watch Doctor Who, Sherlock, and Downton Abbey. I love YA realistic fiction and dystopian books.

One response »

  1. I cannot WAIT for Mortal Danger. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

