RSS Feed

Isla and the Happily Ever After | Review

THIS IS THE BEST AND STEPHANIE IS QUEEN!

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

9627755

Expected publication: August 14th 2014 by Dutton

Pages: 339

Source: Purchased (EARLY BECAUSE OF INCOMPETENT BARNES AND NOBLE EMPLOYEES! God bless them!)

Format: Hardcover

Preorder it from Amazon or Barnes and Noble. Or just buy it when it comes out in a couple days.

You can still preorder it from one of these independent bookstores and receive A SIGNED COPY and free stickers and buttons! Click here!

Read the first fifty pages here.


From the glittering streets of Manhattan to the moonlit rooftops of Paris, falling in love is easy for hopeless dreamer Isla and introspective artist Josh. But as they begin their senior year in France, Isla and Josh are quickly forced to confront the heartbreaking reality that happily-ever-afters aren’t always forever.

Their romantic journey is skillfully intertwined with those of beloved couples Anna and Étienne and Lola and Cricket, whose paths are destined to collide in a sweeping finale certain to please fans old and new.


In summary,

Stephanie’s books have always kept me up into the wee hours of the morning. I was just browsing at my local Barnes and Noble when I saw Isla out on the shelf and I audibly gasped. I immediately knew I’d be having a late night with this one. So, I acted suspicious while checking out with the internal dialogue of “DON’T KNOW THE RELEASE DATE PLEASE”.

Isla and Josh have started their final year at their boarding school in Paris. All of Josh’s friends have graduated the year prior and Isla is spending her senior year with her longtime best friend, Kurt.

Isla has had a humongous crush on Josh since their freshman year, but she is very shy, so she has been admiring him from afar.

Isla is pleasantly shocked when she discovers that Josh may reciprocate her feelings. The rest of the book follows the twists and turns of their completely real relationship as Isla struggles to find herself along the way.

Isla was the first of Stephanie’s girls that didn’t completely infuriate me all the time. She’s shy, but hilarious and witty. She’s the middle of two girls, as I am, so I could easily relate to her. Isla had a lot of self-doubt because she didn’t know what she wanted to do with her life. It was very real and understandable. Isla was a great three-dimensional character. She is probably my favorite of Stephanie’s girls.

Josh was amazing! He was so real and not too amazing, as it should be. He was an amazing artist and he knew what he wanted to do with his life, which I admired. He was also very understanding towards Kurt, Isla’s autistic best friend.

Their relationship was so real (Not that I’d know, because I’m forever alone.). It was sweet in many parts, heartbreaking in others, and full of the kind of love that only teenagers can have for each other.

I’m so sad to let go of Anna, St. Clair, Lola, Cricket, Isla, and Josh.

These books were my favorite romances ever and I will be forever grateful towards Stephanie for creating these characters. I can’t wait to see her again at YALLFest (huge YA book festival in Charleston, South Carolina)!

5/5 stars. I would recommend this book for ages 14+ because there’s a bit of kissing *wiggles eyebrows* in it.

I LOVE ALL OF STEPHANIE’S BOOKS! READ THEM ALL! They will keep you up late and give you all of the feels!

Tell me in the comments who your favorite character of stephanie’s is! (Mine is Isla)

Your favorite fangirl,

Sarah!

Romans 5:8 “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

About Sarah Stevens

I am a teenage girl that reads lots of young adult books. I also watch Doctor Who, Sherlock, and Downton Abbey. I love YA realistic fiction and dystopian books.

Leave a Reply

