RSS Feed

Of Scars and Stardust | Review

Most “OMIGOSH WHAT JUST HAPPENED” ending EVER!

Of Scars and Stardust by Andrea Hannah

18584569

Expected publication: October 8th 2014 by Flux.

Pages: 336

Source: eARC from Netgalley

Format: eBook

Preorder it from Amazon or Barnes and Noble.


After her little sister mysteriously vanishes, seventeen-year-old Claire Graham has a choice to make: stay snug in her little corner of Manhattan with her dropout boyfriend, or go back to Ohio to face the hometown tragedy she’s been dying to leave behind.

But the memories of that night still haunt her in the city, and as hard as she tries to forget what her psychiatrist calls her “delusions,” Claire can’t seem to escape the wolf’s eyes or the blood-speckled snow. Delusion or reality, Claire knows she has to hold true to the most important promise she’s ever made: to keep Ella safe. She must return to her sleepy hometown in order to find Ella and keep her hallucinations at bay before they strike again. But time is quickly running out, and as Ella’s trail grows fainter, the wolves are becoming startlingly real.

Now Claire must deal with her attraction to Grant, the soft-spoken boy from her past that may hold the secret to solving her sister’s disappearance, while following the clues that Ella left for only her to find. Through a series of cryptic diary entries, Claire must unlock the keys to Ella’s past—and her own—in order to stop another tragedy in the making, while realizing that not all things that are lost are meant to be found.


 

The thing that first attracted me to this book was the cover! It is beautiful! If a book has a bad cover, I don’t want to read it. I hate books with faces on the cover. I want to imagine what the character looks like, and this contaminates my imagination. I LOVE Stephanie Perkins but I hate her old covers!

annalolaThese make me want to throw up. (But read the books anyway because they’re SO CUTE!) OFF TRACK!

Of Scars and Stardust was very different. Having an unreliable narrator is always interesting but tough. We Were Liars and The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer both had unreliable narrators. It is different to have to both focus on the plot and decide wether or not the narrator is crazy.

When Claire was fifteen, her little sister, Ella, was brutally attacked by what Claire believes to be “the wolves”. She blames herself for not being there for her sister. The police say that the cuts on Ella’s face were too clean to be any animal, but that doesn’t stop Claire from constantly talking about how the wolves are out to get her.

Claire’s parents send her to live with her aunt in New York City because of the suspicion surrounding Ella’s attack. Claire returns to her hometown two years later after Ella goes missing. Ella was left permanently disfigured from the attack.

Claire joins forces with a boy, Grant, that she knew before her move. They search for the specifics surrounding Ella’s attack in the hopes of finding clues to her whereabouts.

Throughout the entire book Claire constantly mentioned the wolves. I had times where I was convinced that she was insane and other times where I was convinced of the opposite. The answer is not made clear until the ending.

Claire was a strong willed character, but all of that was overpowered by the ever-present question: Is she crazy?

Grant wasn’t the most well-developed character, but I still liked him. I was rooting for their relationship at all the times when I wasn’t begging him to get the heck away because I thought Claire was a psycho.

The ending was not satisfying. I think I know what happened, and if I am right THAT IS SO WHHHATTT NOOOOOO. It left the reader to decide many things on her own. I am still quite mad and confused.

3.75/5 stars. I would recommend this book for ages 13+ because there were plenty of suspenseful parts and the subject of mental illness is quite hard to grasp.

I think this book was well written for a first novel, so kudos to you, Andrea! It left me on the edge of my seat (or, bed) and guessing until the very end. I will buy this book when it comes out to add to my physical bookshelf.

Put this one on your TBR shelf because it is a debut that is not to be missed!

Comment your feelings on unreliable narrators and amazing or terrible covers!

Your favorite fangirl,

Sarah!

Romans 5:8 “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

 

About Sarah Stevens

I am a teenage girl that reads lots of young adult books. I also watch Doctor Who, Sherlock, and Downton Abbey. I love YA realistic fiction and dystopian books.

4 responses »

  1. Ok i just finished this book and i did not get that ending. Can you please explain to me what you think happened.

    Like

    Reply
    • I’d love to explain what I think happened but first a warning to others reading this: INTENSE SPOILERS AHEAD LIKE REALLY GO AWAY IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK

      GO

      AWAY

      NOW

      Okay, I shall begin. So, her dad was the one that killed the little girl. I think she (forgot her name, it’s been a while) hurt Graham and her sister. The wolves aren’t real and she has schizophrenia or some mental disorder like that that causes hallucinations. In the end of the book, she was in a mental hospital because she almost killed Graham for the second time. I think. I was immensely confused as well.

      Like

      Reply
  2. I wish we had found out more about what happened around Ella. Do you have any ideas on the ending? I was also pretty confused by the state of Graham. I know that Claire was hallucinating but I was hoping to get more specific answers.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

