RSS Feed

The New Doctor: Yay or Nay?

Doctor Who.

It is the name of a show that you have most likely heard of if you have even tapped the surface of the dark abyss that is the internet. Even as I was a wee babe, just entering The Hunger Games and Percy Jackson fandoms, I heard the name of The Doctor echoed throughout the internet.

Doctor Who is a British science-fiction television programme produced by the BBC between 1963 and the present day. The programme depicts the adventures of the Doctor, a Time Lord—a time-travelling humanoid alien. He explores the universe in his TARDIS, a sentient time-travelling space ship. Its exterior appears as a blue British police box, which was a common sight in Britain in 1963 when the series first aired. Along with a succession of companions, the Doctor faces a variety of foes while working to save civilisations, help ordinary people, and right wrongs.

Wikipedia

My reason for watching Doctor Who, when it boils down to it, was peer pressure. The first aspect was the pressure of basically the entire internet. Then two of my close friends started watching the show. I held out until November of last year when I watched The Day of the Doctor. I was thoroughly confused, obviously, but that made me begin the journey that is binge watching Doctor Who.

Series Eight

As all Doctor Who fans and people who frequent the internet will know, season eight (or series, for you Brits) of Doctor Who premiered on August 23rd. It was strange for me to be watching Doctor Who on live television after binge watching it for so long. I also watched the shows that premiered the last two Saturdays. I need to share my thoughts with the internet, as one does.

THE NEW DOCTOR

If you say that your first thought when seeing Peter Capaldi, the new doctor, was not, “Why is he so old?” then you’re lying. You may feel guilty, but we all thought it. I mean we went form this to this!

matt_smith_eleventh_doctor_who_desktop_1920x1080_wallpaper-107100711

Youngest Doctor ever to oldest Doctor ever. Shock. But, as fans do, we got got over it.

I LOVE THE NEW DOCTOR. End of story. I will not say that I like him more than Matt Smith or David Tennant, but I like him pretty darn much. He seems more calloused and alien than Matt and David. I feel like that is a needed change. He is also hilarious and as zealous and insane as the Doctor should be. I am really excited to welcome Peter aboard to the crazy train that is being the Doctor. I think this season will be amazing.

Clara Oswald

Clara has gotten plenty of both criticism and praise playing a companion. Personally, she is not my favorite, but I still like her. Amy will forever and always be my favorite companion. Forever. Rory follows, then Donna, then Clara, then Rose, and then poor Martha.

I thought Clara did very well in these three episodes. She has been sassy, strong, and smart. I’m excited to see what is to come of her in the following season.

WHAT IS TO COME…

These episodes have left plenty of stings hanging.

What role will Mr. Pink play? I would love a romance for Clara and another male companion, though I think Rory will still be the best.

Who the heck is Missy and where is she? I have no idea what is going on with that but that’s why I love the show!

I’m so excited for season eight of Doctor Who and I hope you are too!

What do you think of the new doctor? Clara? Mr. Pink? Missy? Tell me how you feel about season eight and how you started watching Doctor Who in the comments below.

Your favorite fangirl,

Sarah!

Romans 5:8 “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

About Sarah Stevens

I am a teenage girl that reads lots of young adult books. I also watch Doctor Who, Sherlock, and Downton Abbey. I love YA realistic fiction and dystopian books.

Leave a Reply

