RSS Feed

Heir of Fire | Book Review

This book is the epitome of everything fantasy. It is perfect.

Heir of Fire

image

Published September 2nd 2014 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Pages: 575

Format: Hardcover

Source: Purchased

Rating:1,000,000/5 stars

Buy it here: Amazon or Barnes and Noble.


 Summary from Goodreads:

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love?


Sarah J Maas is a genius. Girl, your books are amazing so you deserve a high five.

This review may have minor spoilers to Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight.

The book begins a few weeks after Crown of Midnight. Celaena has been designated the task of assassinating the Wendlyn royal family, which she hardly considers doing. She is contacted by Queen Maeve through Prince Rowan, who is Fae (people with powers over the elements and stuff). Celaena is also Fae and the Queen tells Celaena that if she controls her powers over fire, the Queen would give Celaena much needed information.

Celaena basically goes through that scene in all action movies where the character has a time lapse in which they play motivational music and go from weakling to buff hero. The difference is that this is the main part of this whopper of a book. Though, this is very interesting. I love it when book characters are learning how to hone their powers!

As for Celaena,

She gets so amazingly powerful and even more awesome than in the previous books. In the beginning, she is hurting over the events of the past book, but she learns to use those experiences to make her even more powerful. I loved her character arc. She finally learned to open up and stand for what she believes in. I still think Celaena has a ways to go in the area of loving herself (or, not hating herself) but she is trying. She has gone through the worst things and is still resilient.

Rowan was an amazing new character. First off, NO ROMANCE! Rowan and Celaena have a very special bond, but not in that way. Yet. I’m not opposed to the idea. With that out of the way, Rowan trains Celaena and he has brutal methods but they work marvelously. After Rowan learns the horrendous experiences that Celaena has gone through, they begin to get along and, eventually, love each other as friends. I’ve so very excited to have Rowan in the next books.

Of course, Chaol is back! I was not okay with the way things ended. Going into this book, I was positive I would be mad if there were not any Celaena-Chaol scenes, but there weren’t and I was fine. Both characters needed to evolve and process on their own. I believe they did that. Chaol chose his side for the oncoming war between Terrasen and Adarlan and he stuck to what he beleved in. I loved him in CoM, but through this book, I was more wanting to read the scenes fast so I could get back to Celaena and Rowan. I kind of like Chaol less.

Dorian returns. And, holy character development! He evolved amazingly. He moved on from Celaena, as he should, and learned to better control his magic. Dorian learned to be a King, not a Prince. I loved him in this book. He stuck to his convictions. But, OMIGOSH THE ENDING! DORIAN! Please read the book and freak out with me.

We are also introduced to Sorscha. She is a healer that is in earlier books because she tends to the characters and keeps their questionable injuries a secret. She is very timid and is also in love with Dorian. Their relationship is the sole one in this book. I liked it, but I wasn’t super into it. Things about Sorscha are revealed at the end and things happen and WHAT.

Say hello to Aedion Ashryver. He is Celaena’s cousin and close childhood friend. I loved learning about him and how how loyal he was to Celaena. It was so interesting because of how similar he was was to Celaena. Most of his interactions in the book were with Chaol. I really need a reunion scene with Celaena and Aedion and the next book. I need it so bad. Aedion was an intriguing new character I hope to learn more about.

Our last main character is Manon Blackbeak. She is a witch in the Ironteeth clan. I would inwardly groan when the plot deterred from Celaena to check up on Manon, but then I would be sucked up into her story. Manon is an interesting character. She is bred to be evil and bloodthirsty but we see her as she slowly does noble things. She isn’t a hero, but she isn’t a villain either. I loved learning about Abraxos (her dragon thing). It was funny to read and find yourself rooting for Manon.

This book is action mostly. I normally hate that, but I LOVED this book. The world was so well written along with the characters and everything else. There was hardly any romance, and that was fine for once. My position on fantasy-hating has not been completely pivoted, but I still love this book.

The only inappropriate things in this book were slightly graphic violence and some swearing. There were some kissing scenes, but other than that it was clean.

I am beyond ecstatic to meet Sarah J Maas at YallFest! She is amazing, her books are amazing, and I can’t wait to tell her that!

I NEED THIS SECOND BOOK NOW PLEASE? The ending was just not okay

.

Even so, I cannot stress the need for everyone in the world to read this book enough. READ NOW. RIGHT NOW.

Will/have you read this book? Do you like fantasy? If you have read it, WHAT EVEN ARE YOUR FEELS PLEASE?!

Your favorite fangirl,

Sarah!

Romans 5:8 “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

About Sarah Stevens

I am a teenage girl that reads lots of young adult books. I also watch Doctor Who, Sherlock, and Downton Abbey. I love YA realistic fiction and dystopian books.

Leave a Reply

