RSS Feed

The Maze Runner | Movie Review

YES.

THE MAZE RUNNER

MV5BMjUyNTA3MTAyM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwOTEyMTkyMjE@._V1_SX214_AL_

Rating: PG-13 (violence and some language)

My Rating: 4/5 stars

It is very hard for me to trust young adult movie adaptations because they have failed so many times.

Percy Jackson: FAIL and super upsetting because those book are my childhood.

The Host: This was so terrible I don’t even want to begin.

The Mortal Instruments: *barfs*

Divergent: Eh.

If I Stay (review to come): Okay.

The Giver: I don’t know yet but everyone hated it.

My good experiences are more limited.

The Fault in Our Stars: YES

Harry Potter: Obviously, YES.

The Hunger Games: JLaw is queen!

I can finally add another movie adaptation to the YES list because it was AH-MAZE-ING! Get it? MAZE-ING? Maze Runner? Oh, well.

I knew from the start that this would be a good one because I watch Teen Wolf, so I’m in love with Dylan O’Brien, basically, and I know he’s such a talented actor. The others acting in this film were obviously professional and not just another pretty face like in other adaptations.

I read the Maze Runner four years ago, so I do not remember the book vividly (though I may reread). The adaptation was different, but it didn’t pull a Percy Jackson (completely different plot). It didn’t bother me that it was a bit different. Everything important stayed the same.

The acting was so great. Thomas I expected, but Newt, Chuck, Alby, and Gally were all portrayed perfectly. It was different to see an almost entirely male cast. I bet Kaya (Teresa) was overwhelmed!

The action scenes were nail-biting and intense. It was a bit scary, but perfectly so. The Grievers were TERRIFYING GIANT MECHANIC SPIDERS. NIGHTMARES. Dylan is great in action, so that worked out quite nicely.

My only criticism is the huge information dumb at the end of the movie. I understood because I read the book, but those who didn’t were most assuredly left wondering what just happened. The thing is, the characters were overwhelmed as well. I don’t know how they could have set it up any different.

The movie was also a tear-jerker, as this who have read the book will know. This is portrayed perfectly because DYLAN O’BRIEN, WHY WOULDN’T IT BE! I never cry in movies (Except for when dogs die.), but my eyes welled up in this one.

I know there will be a second movie because there just has to be. The ending was not satisfying (even though I know what happens) and I cannot wait for The Scorch Trials.

I applaud all the actors and Kaya (ESPECIALLY DYLAN YOU PERFECT HUMAN BEING) and I also applaude Wes Ball, the director. James Dashner, you wrote a good one. See you at YALLFest!

Verdict: SEE THE DANG MOVIE BUT READ THE BOOK FIRST! It is a little scary but no sexual scenes at all. It is great for both guys and girls to see. There’s a ton of action and a very intriguing plot, so it is perfect for everyone of ages 12+.

If you’ve seen the movie, comment your feelings. If not, will you see it? And which young adult movie adaptations did you hate or love?

Your favorite fangirl,

Sarah!

Romans 5:8 “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

About Sarah Stevens

I am a teenage girl that reads lots of young adult books. I also watch Doctor Who, Sherlock, and Downton Abbey. I love YA realistic fiction and dystopian books.

Leave a Reply

