RSS Feed

Burn for Burn Series | Book Review

WHAT EVEN I CAN’T. Read this and share my pain.

Burn for Burn Trilogy by Siobhan Vivian and Jenny Han

Book 1: Burn for Burn

Book 2: Fire with Fire

Book 3: Ashes to Ashes

 9781442440777_p0_v8_s260x4209781442440807_p0_v8_s260x42010662433

Published by Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing September 18th 2012, August 13th 2013, Septemeber 16th 2014.

Pages: 358, 517, 387 (respectively)

Format: eBook

Source: Purchased

Buy them from Amazon or Barnes and Noble.


Postcard-perfect Jar Island is the kind of place where nobody locks their doors at night, where parents can sleep easy, knowing their daughters are tucked away safe and sound in their beds.

But bad things can happen, even to good girls . . . and sometimes, the only way to make things right is to do something wrong.

Lillia used to trust boys, but not anymore. Not after what happened this summer. And she’ll do whatever it takes to protect her little sister from the same fate.

Kat is over the rumors, the insults, the cruel jokes made at her expense. It all goes back to one person–her ex-best friend. Someone needs to teach her a lesson, and, with Lillia and Mary behind her, Kat feels up to the task.

Four years ago, Mary left Jar Island because of a boy. But she’s not the same girl anymore. Now that she’s got friends who have her back, he’s going to be in big trouble.

Three very different girls who come together to make things right. Will they go too far?


As you may have noticed, I am trying something new and reviewing a series because I read these books in less than a week and they have completely blended together.

FIRST OF ALL:

This is series was just so intense and addicting and

I’ll do a short, sweet and honest review of each book then a verdict on the series.

Book One: Burn for Burn

Going into this series, I was in an intense reading slump because of busyness and lack of a darn great book. That was fixed fast. The book follows Lillia, Kat, and Mary as they join together to exact their revenge upon those who they deem worthy of punishment. What was refreshing was that they all had legit and understandable reasons to exact their revenge. In many books, some character is oh so mad about an event like someone stealing their ice cream when they were ten. That really, really bothers me when the reason for rage is unjustifiable.

The book played out like a lot of movies about revenge, and I normally like those movies. Personally, I liked to hear Lillia’s storyline the best because it had a dash of romance which is always my favorite. Kat may have been my favorite of the three girls because she reminded me of one of my best friends. Mary just creeped me out.

4/5 stars. This book is for sure worth the read.

It was quick, satisfying, and realistic enough to not be ridiculous. I’d say ages 14+ because rape is discussed and well as some strong language when in Kat’s point of view.

Book Two: Fire with Fire

This book was my favorite of the three. It was the longest by far and the most addicting. I COULD NOT put it down. I was reading on my phone whilst in a stadium during a college football game (GO CLEMSON TIGERS).

It begins right where book one left off. Lillia, Kat, and Mary decide that they aren’t done with their revenge so they turn their full attention to Reeve in hopes of ruining his life. It is SO HARD to not spoil this but I really, really can’t so I’ll be vauge.

The romance really vamps up in this book and I LOVE IT SO SO SO MUCH.

This is my favorite kind of romance. “I’ve loved you forever but you never knew” and “hate to tolerate to friends to SUPER IN LOVE” are my favorite romance themes. THIS IS BOTH. *swoons* PLEASE leave a comment if you know of any books with those romance themes.

I loveloveloved this book. The end was a double whammy with two huge WHAT JUST HAPPENED blows in quick succession.

4.5/5 stars. Everyone that ever liked a romance book should read this. I give the same 14+ rating for language, mature talk, and some intense kissing. Seriously, read this.

Book Three: Ashes to Ashes

This. Book. Was. So. Intense. One thing after another came at you and the romance was rebooted to and even higher level. What was also added was a lot of supernatural elements which completely threw me off.

The romance was amazing and beautiful and I loveloveloved it for 2/3 of the book but them everything happened and my heart was smushed into the ground forever. *NOSPOILERS* was so sweet and caring and in love. I need him as my boyfriend now, please?

THE EPILOGUE WAS TERRIBLE. It just threw bad news after bad news at your face. I’m kind of super upset with the authors, but I created a new epilogue in my head for when the characters are 30 and everything is how it is supposed to be.

4/5 stars. (Still ages 14+) This book was very upsetting and the supernatural elements sort of bombarded me. It was still a super unique storyline and completely and totally worth the read.

FINAL SERIES VERDICT

Just read it. I loved this series more than life itself. After I finished it, I went in my backyard and walked around barefoot for thirty minutes in a daze. It takes a darn good book to do that. Anyone who loves romance, revenge, ghosts, mean girls, and rich people problems should read this series.

Read it anyway even if you don’t like those things. It is so addicting you’ll throw away your life to read it.

Reviews to come soon: If I Stay movie, The Summer I Turned Pretty series, and Love & Other Unknown Variables.

Also be on the lookout for October in YA post this weekend!

Have you read this series? If so, what did you love/hate. If not, tell me if you will read it! Also, I’d love recommendations for new reads and reviews.

Your favorite fangirl,

Sarah!

Romans 5:8 “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

About Sarah Stevens

I am a teenage girl that reads lots of young adult books. I also watch Doctor Who, Sherlock, and Downton Abbey. I love YA realistic fiction and dystopian books.

Leave a Reply

