RSS Feed

Breathe, Annie, Breathe | Book Review

So relatable for me that I read it in one sitting!

Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally

16045306

Rating: 4/5 stars

Published July 15th 2014 by Sourcebooks Fire

Pages: 306

Source: Purchased

Format: Hardcover

But it from Barnes and Noble or Amazon


Annie hates running. No matter how far she jogs, she can’t escape the guilt that if she hadn’t broken up with Kyle, he might still be alive. So to honor his memory, she starts preparing for the marathon he intended to race.

But the training is even more grueling than Annie could have imagined. Despite her coaching, she’s at war with her body, her mind—and her heart. With every mile that athletic Jeremiah cheers her on, she grows more conflicted. She wants to run into his arms…and sprint in the opposite direction. For Annie, opening up to love again may be even more of a challenge than crossing the finish line.


The whole reason I picked up this book was because it was about running. I do cross country and track. For those of you who would like to know, I am okay at cross country with my personal record of the 5K (3.1 miles) being 22:27. I am best at track with my mile record being 6:06 and my 800 (half mile) record at 2:36.

I like to read books about running because they are relatable, like The Running Dream by Wendelin Van Draanen and Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson also has some of the same elements.

Annie’s boyfriend Kyle died in a car accident. They were in love and would have probably gotten married, but his life was tragically cut short. Kyle was going to run a marathon and so Annie decides to train and run in his honor. During her training she meets Jeremiah. He is funny and athletic but, most surprisingly, interested in her. She tries to deal with this while dealing with Kyle’s death and training to run a marathon. That’s a lot on one girl’s plate! Oh, she’s also a waitress so, plate. Hah.

Annie was slightly frustrating at times but it was very understandable. I could not imagine going through a loss like hers. Sh has great development, mentally and physically. As she grows stronger in her training, she also learns to let go of Kyle and start living her own life.

Jeremiah is an adrenaline addict. He is always rafting, hiking, biking, bungee jumping, or doing something else of the like. His addiction causes him problems with both Annie and his mother. Besides that, Jere is funny, kind, athletic, and a good friend to Annie. I really loved him. Besides his long hair because long hair is the worst.

So I give this book four out of five stars because it was very swoon-worthy and had great character development. I don’t give it five because the romance got a bit too saucy and it is not the most memorable book ever. Even so, I would recommend this to any runner for sure and anyone going through a loss. Even if you are just looking for a refreshing romance, this book is great.

I will be reading more of Miranda’s books. In order this time! I may have to reread this because I couldn’t appreciate the characters that had reappeared from past books.

So sorry that I haven’t posted in a month! I will try to post about going to YALLFest this week and meeting James Dashner because it was awesome!

Do you run or like reading about it? Your opinions on long hair and loss? Comment below!

Your favorite fangirl,

Sarah!

Romans 5:8 “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

About Sarah Stevens

I am a teenage girl that reads lots of young adult books. I also watch Doctor Who, Sherlock, and Downton Abbey. I love YA realistic fiction and dystopian books.

Leave a Reply

